Shelly 1 behind light switch

• IMG_0324.jpegIMG_0323.jpeg

Hi!

I am starting out simple, by trying to connect a Shelly 1 behind a simple light switch. It is an on/off state switch & I would like to automatise it with a shelly. However, I cannot seem to find out exactly how to wire the Shelly. Can someone perhaps show me how to wire it?

I have 5 cables in total:

- an Earth cable going to the light probably(?)

- a neutral wire, directly not connected to the switch

- 2 brown phase cables, connected to the switch. 1 comes from the bottom of the wall box, 1 goes to the top of the wall box.

- 1 black switch wire going to the top of the box (presumably the light).

As you've guessed: I'm not an expert, however I'm willing to try & do this with the power switched off ;)

Can anyone enlighten me on how to connect my shelly?

• Hi Thaan , welcome in the forum. :)

First a hint:

Please post pictures directly here in the forum.

If the links are no longer available later, the users are missing the context. Here in the forum the pictures are preserved. Thank you.

For wiring the Shelly you will find here the corresponding connection pictures.

If you have more questions, just write. ;)

Have fun here. :)

LG / best regards

Stefan

Ich übernehme keine Haftung für von mir gegebene Antworten, Tipps und veröffentlichte Projekte! Jeder ist für sich selbst verantwortlich! Arbeiten an 230V sind in Deutschland von einer Elektrofachkraft auszuführen!

Einsteigertipps / Tips for beginners

Mein System / my system:

Homematic CCU2 + Homematic Charly (CCU3) mit Fremdkopplungen:
    unter Anderen 3x Shelly 1, 4x Shelly 2.5, 1x Shelly Bulb, 5x Shelly Plug S, 1x Shelly RGBW2 und 1x Shelly H&T im Produktivbetrieb.

• Hello Thaan ,

Welcome to this Forum! :)

Look here: ;)

connection diagrams Shelly 1

Beste Grüße

Axel

Theorie ist wenn man alles weiß und nichts funktioniert. Praxis ist wenn alles funktioniert und keiner weiß warum.